top of page
hog night.jpg


Hedgehog Friendly Campus awards 2022-2023

Hedgehog Friendly Campus is a national award scheme designed to protect hedgehogs, enhance their habitat and create awareness, funded by the British Hedgehog Preservation Society. Teams consist of students and staff members who work towards making impactful changes for hedgehogs and other wildlife around their university, college, or primary school.

We want to say a BIG CONGRATULATIONS to those of you that have achieved Bronze, Silver, Gold or Platinum accreditations for 2022-2023. Well done to everyone who has taken part this year, you have all done your bit to help hedgehogs and our prickly friends will thank you!

Our key milestones 2022-2023

This year has been one of our most successful years so far, it has been truly remarkable to see all of you progress to make your university, college or primary school a place where hedgehogs and other wildlife can thrive!

An incredible 92 institutions submitted an application to be a Hedgehog Friendly Campus. Over 1,300 hedgehog-friendly actions were taken over the course of the year.

Our key milestones for 2022-2023:

  • Over 3,500 trees have been planted

  • Over 100 hedgehog houses placed on site

  • Over £4,500 was raised for the British Hedgehog Preservation Society

  • Almost 60 hedgehog crossing signs

  • Over 1000 staff and student volunteers

  • 262 litter picks

  • Nearly 1,500 bags of litter collected

  • Over 550 positive signs of hedgehogs were found across 36 universities, colleges and schools

Photos from teams that are part of Hedgehog Friendly Campus

University awards - #HFCBronze, #HFCSilver, #HFCGold, #HFCPlatinum.

The following Universities have achieved Bronze Accreditation (2022-2023):

Arts University Bournemouth, Aston Students' Union and Aston University, Churchill College (University of Cambridge), Emmanuel College (University of Cambridge), Liverpool John Moores University, Royal Agricultural University, The Open University, University Centre Reaseheath, University of Cumbria - Fusehill Street, University of Plymouth, University of Wales Trinity Saint David.

The following Universities also renewed their Bronze Accreditation (2022-2023):

Edge Hill University, Hartpury University, LSE Hedgehog Club, Loughborough University, University of London, De Montfort University, University of Hull, University of Salford.

The following Universities have achieved Silver Accreditation (2022-2023):

Cardiff University, Coventry University, Cranfield University, De Montfort University, Oxford Brookes University, Queen Margaret University, University of Hertfordshire, University of Hull, University of St Andrews, University of Sunderland, University of Warwick, Writtle University College.

The following Universities also renewed their Silver Accreditation (2022-2023):

University of Salford.

The following Universities have achieved Gold Accreditation (2022-2023):

Bangor University, Bath Spa University, Durham University, Kingston University - KU Hoglets, Lancaster University, NTU Brackenhurst, NTU City Campus, NTU Clifton Campus, Northumbria University, Swansea University, University of Birmingham, University of Chichester, University of Leeds, University of Northampton, University of Salford, University of Sheffield, University of Surrey 'SurreyHedgehogs', University of Southampton, York St John University.

The following Universities have achieved Platinum Accreditation (2022-2023):

Keele University, University of York.

FE College awards - #HFCBronze, #HFCSilver, #HFCGold.

The following FE Colleges have achieved Bronze Accreditation (2022-2023):

Aurora Boveridge College, Ayrshire College, Brinsbury College, Dearne Valley College, Derby College Group, Dundee and Angus College, Heart of Worcestershire College, Midkent College, Pembrokeshire College, Plumpton College, The College of West Anglia, West Suffolk College (Animal Studies).

The following FE Colleges also renewed their Bronze Accreditation (2022-2023):

Brooksby Melton College - SMB college group, Kendal College, Newark College (Lincoln College).

The following FE Colleges have achieved Silver Accreditation (2022-2023):

Brooksby Melton College - SMB college group, National Star College, Sheiling School and Sheiling College, Sparsholt College and University Centre Sparsholt, The Sheffield College.

Primary School awards - #HFCBronze, #HFCSilver, #HFCGold.

The following Primary Schools have achieved Bronze Accreditation (2022-2023):

Abbots Farm Junior School, Babington House School, Ebchester CE Primary School, Marsden Primary School, Mepal and Witcham Church of England Primary School, Palm Bay Primary School, Roundwood Primary School, St.Patrick's Catholic Primary School.

The following Primary Schools have achieved Silver Accreditation (2022-2023):

Bitterley Primary School, Sleights CE VC Primary School, West Denton Primary School, St Peter's Junior School.

The following Primary Schools have achieved Gold Accreditation (2022-2023):

Burton Fields School, Greystones Primary School, Harrysmuir Primary School, Hildenborough CE Primary School, Howard Junior School, Seafield Primary School, St Mary’s C of E Primary School (Staffs), Sunnyside Primary School, Thornton College, West View Primary School, Wolsingham Primary School, Ysgol San Sior.

Keep up the good work teams!

Don’t see your institution listed and want to get involved? Email for more information.

2,315 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
Partly funded by:
Delivered by:
SOS-UK_Logo_Positive_RGB_web version.png
bottom of page